Lexus Is200 Auto To Manual Conversion

hi all, i have a Lexus is200 1999 model sports luxury edition Auto, i was wondering if anyone has any knowledge about taking the auto box out and puting the manual gear box and clutch in???? also how easy it is as i am not a mechanic!!! Also if anyone has information on how much this would roughly cost if i was to get it done by a mechanic???? and also how much and where would the best place to get the parts from or is anyone selling a manual gear box with all the running gear with low k's on it?????

feedback would b muchly appreciated

cheers

Flexus Lexus/Dan

no disrespect if i was gonna change the engine i would hit up the is300 with the lexus is200 6 speed, or 2jz with the 5 speed, or 1jz with 5 speed. turbo it thats what im talkin POWER. if i had the chance to purchase an is250 i would defo do tho ur is250 looks dead sexc i could defo drive one of those!!!

sounds like an awesome plan. but im not sure about the manual gearbox from lexus would be wise. if another brand fits it would be much better but i dont know if you can get another box that fits.

but apart of me was also thinking about finding a altezza beams engine an convert it from 6-4 cylinder and add a turbo jus to stick with the lexus side of things or do the work to another is200 engine and c how much power i can get safely out of the 1gfe again only because i wouldnt mind stickin with the lexus engine an keepin tru lexus!!! a quick question tho do u no if any model camry has the same coil packs as lexus is200 engine?? i read on the internet som where it does an i am lookin at gettin confirmation from som1 that this is tru????

cheers

• 4 weeks later...

ok i have converted my car from 1g to 3sge & it's quite a bit of work. it will cost you around $8000 to do this conversion all up, unless you can fit it yourself, in which cas it will still cost around $5-6k