Track Day Preparation

RecursiveLoop

I'm going for my first timed track day in the ISF this Sunday at Holden Performance Driving centre in Norwell Park near the Gold Coast.

Just found out I'm in the same group as a Ferrari 360 Spider, 2 x BMW M3s and a Porsche 996 Turbo. Oh boy.

I'm fully prepared to come last as I'm just a rookie, but does anyone have any tips for me? Also, anything I should do to prepare the car apart from oil change and checking tyre pressure?

Drive to your own level.

You have nothing to prove.

The Ferrari, Porsche and BMW drivers are likely wan...s anyway with all pose and little driving ability.

You have a great car, track tyres (slicks) could take several seconds off your lap time, if your going sideways your not going fast.

Learn the corners, brake points and be consistent.

Steer hard to get into the right place for corner entry and most of all maximise your corner exit speed.

Attached photo, my Golf GTI

I would love to have a go myself, I am waiting to get back to Wakefield near Goulburn to get the feel of the car driven hard.

Great advice, thanks for that! Yeah I'm going to do my best and try to learn from it. There will be some professional racing drivers there so hopefully will get some coaching.

Do you recommend driving in sport mode or with stability control completely off?

Sport mode should get the car to operate in the higher performance mode.

I would suspect the stability control would take away from the control by the driver, so you will have to try on the day but I think stability control off.

I had a track day at the same venue last year in one of their Lotus'. Just as long as you listen to the instructors and drive at your own (as Epicurean suggested) level you should be fine! You'll have plenty of fun.

Drive to your own level.

You have nothing to prove.

The Ferrari, Porsche and BMW drivers are likely wan...s anyway with all pose and little driving ability.