Hey guys.

My car has now done 8000kms although I would like to do the service (Oil and filter change)

Had a look the other day it was about a 1L short so I topped it up.

Although please forgive me as I dont believe the car should run in to 15000ks on original oil... I work in the motorcycle industry and see the oil coming out and 15,000 is excessive.

I have a fully set up workshop at home.

Any one does their own services in between.

I bought and original oil filter(Toyota :) ) and Shell Synthetic oil...

In the manual you need a special tool attaches to your socket although I have a 3 jaw oil filter removal tool and my friend works for toyota sad its not a problem,

The filter looks a pain in the arse as it has a few seals....

Lastly where is it located so I dont have to search if any one knows?

I only intend to do the half services and the others at Lexus.

I like fresh oil ever 5000kms and believe its for the best....

Cheers

Vadim

Seriously, unless your car operates under some real tough conditions, why bother?? Lexus engineers wouldn't recommend 15K km service intervals unless they knew their product would be ok. After all their engines have a reputation for lasting the distance.

I used to change oil on my soarer every 5K kays, but only due to the turbos and the 300 odd horsepower. IS250's engine doesn't have either. Such frequent servicing is a bit of an overkill to be honest.

Seriously, unless your car operates under some real tough conditions, why bother?? Lexus engineers wouldn't recommend 15K km service intervals unless they knew their product would be ok. After all their engines have a reputation for lasting the distance.

I used to change oil on my soarer every 5K kays, but only due to the turbos and the 300 odd horsepower. IS250's engine doesn't have either. Such frequent servicing is a bit of an overkill to be honest.

I thank you for your opinion.