Hi guys,

I'm new to owning a lexus (picked up my Black 05 is250 Sports 2 weeks ago)

I've been in the performance car scene for 5 years now and well i'm kinda moving on from performance and headed into luxury (i still own a 1999 nissan silvia s15 and set it up for a bit of track fun, and i got it tuned to run 98octane with e10)

my question is, can the is250 run e10 with no problems? the dealer said he "thinks" i can, but i don't want to take that chance (even though i still have another 4 years of factory warranty).

can someone give me a definite answer

cheers

khoa

Pure 98 is the way to go IMHO. Anything else runs less economically and less powerfully. Plus, nothing else contains the detergents 98 comes bundled with. There are others on this site that run mainly 95 though, without hassles. E10 unleaded is the minimum permitted fuel. It is not the recommended one. Minimum recommended is plain 95.

I used to alternate b/w 98 and 95 each fill. Now I just stick to 98.

In short, it is ok to run E10, but it will limit the performance of the vehicle & the overall fuel economy. You are driving a luxury car, I would not recommend anything below 98 to keep the performance at a maximum, however I have been advised that it is safe to use any unleaded fuel.

thanks guys

Performance (power) isn't a concern to me as it will never match a genuine sports car, i chose a luxury car for the simple reason of luxury, i just wanted to know incase i ever had to or felt like i wanna to run e10 i could without damaging the car